Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ZTE Valet

New to Android - advice?

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 MsTea

MsTea

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 October 2013 - 10:36 AM

Hi,

Since I'm new to Androids or any kind of smart phone, I'm not sure whether my questions are 1) specific to the ZTE Valet TracFone and 2) stupid. :) But I'm a big believer in asking stupid questions, so here goes:

 

1. Any idea how to get my Google calendar to load? Should I buy the Google Calendar App on Play Store?

 

2. I'm confused about when my phone is using data and when it isn't. For example, if I open my Google Calendar (once I figure out how to do that), it must use data to open the calendar. Does it, like, use data once to open the calendar, once again to synch it,  once again to view an appointment, once again to create a new appointment?

 

3. This is specific to the phone, but it doesn't seem to have a Prepaid menu, so I can't check my minutes and data usage without going to the Tracfone website and asking Tracfone to tell me what my usage is. I want to get an idea for how much data I use doing this or that on the phone.

 

Okay, Those are my questions - thanks for any input!



#2 rctruckracer

rctruckracer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 October 2013 - 08:45 AM

I just got this phone, and I think I can answer this.

 

Yes, all apps are installed through Play Store - even free ones.

 

 So long as you are connected to a WiFi source, any internet traffic will not be deducted from your data minutes. You can set up your phone to auto connect to any available WiFi, that way you are less likely to dig into the minutes bank. There is an icon on the top of the screen to indicate if you are connected. If you are in an area without WiFi and open up Google cal, I would think it will deduct data minutes based only on how much data is transferred, and not the number of commands or functions you utilize.

 

There is a free app (My Account) for Tracfone, but right now it just sends a msg to your phone with an updated balance. I bet the app gets updated sometime soon. This is, after all, Tracfone's first smartphone. It will take time for tracfone specific apps to show up - and current ones to get updated.

 

Hope that helps!



#3 Yogi

Yogi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 November 2013 - 01:11 AM

     I need to jump into the same pool as the previous poster.  I just bought myself a ZTE Valet as my 71st Birthday present, and I am starting to thing I made a HUGE mistake. I forgot that the operator is "supposed" to be smarter than the instrument. OOpth!

     The enclosed used guide leaves huge amounts of data out. The online "User Manual" isn't a whole lot better. They both appear to be aimed at a "veteran" android operator, not a novice. I  would very much like to learn how to operate this little jewel correctly, but Tracfone techs have no more idea how to do so than I do.

     As an example, after downloading and installing Skype, when I attempt to make a call now, I am given the choice of phone or skype, and theoption to do so just once, or always. That's cool, but I found that if ALWAYS is chosen, it is permanent, and I can find no way and nowhere to UNDO that choice.  Having said that, I will further state that I may have ruined the whole thing by doing a reset in order to go bqack to the original settings. BIG MISTAKE, folks. I cannot use the JoinMe app, and several things no longer function anymore.

     I may be forced to send the poor thing back to the factory to be "cured" and even then am not sure I won't mangle things again.

If anyone can suggest a source of information I can beg, borrow, steal or buy and download, PLEASE let me know.  Is there an Android for Dummies book out there somewhere??  I sure hope so.  Thanks, and God Bless all, Yogi



#4 John Dave

John Dave

    Farrell

  • Approved Members Group
  • PipPipPip
  • 429 posts
  • LocationNew York, USA

Posted 05 November 2013 - 12:23 AM

guys !! what i am getting here is the problem with the data connection !! and guys the bad thing is we can't help it .... Android smartphones are supposed to used data connection regularly in order to operate fluently !! And i must say we all need to admit that spending few bucks from our pocket in order to keep our Android devices fluently worths. So guys, its better to switch to operator that provides good data services rather than finding a way to limit our data usage !! :) I know most of you will get mad on me but, you also have to agree that without data connection our devices are long dead !! ;)  ;)  ;)  ;)  


John Dave

Technical Consulatant

Website: www.rapidsofttechnologies.com

 

#5 zhangyamysaga

zhangyamysaga

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 10:34 PM

This question is too complex, you can ask these people who is very familiar with ZTE android phone. 



#6 CharlotteD

CharlotteD

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 November 2013 - 02:39 PM

I just got my phone and have a couple of questions (to start anyway  :))

 

1) Is there a way to delete unread texts? 

 

2) Is there a Verizon telephone number for checking voicemail from a different phone?

 

 Thanks!

   Charlotte



#7 coilever

coilever

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:12 AM

I need to jump into the same pool as the previous poster. I just bought myself a ZTE Valet as my 71st Birthday present, and I am starting to thing I made a HUGE mistake. I forgot that the operator is "supposed" to be smarter than the instrument. OOpth!
The enclosed used guide leaves huge amounts of data out. The online "User Manual" isn't a whole lot better. They both appear to be aimed at a "veteran" android operator, not a novice. I would very much like to learn how to operate this little jewel correctly, but Tracfone techs have no more idea how to do so than I do.
As an example, after downloading and installing Skype, when I attempt to make a call now, I am given the choice of phone or skype, and theoption to do so just once, or always. That's cool, but I found that if ALWAYS is chosen, it is permanent, and I can find no way and nowhere to UNDO that choice. Having said that, I will further state that I may have ruined the whole thing by doing a reset in order to go bqack to the original settings. BIG MISTAKE, folks. I cannot use the JoinMe app, and several things no longer function anymore.
I may be forced to send the poor thing back to the factory to be "cured" and even then am not sure I won't mangle things again.
If anyone can suggest a source of information I can beg, borrow, steal or buy and download, PLEASE let me know. Is there an Android for Dummies book out there somewhere?? I sure hope so. Thanks, and God Bless all, Yogi

You have to root your phone. How you do that, I have no idea? If you find out let me know, please, and thank you!

#8 coilever

coilever

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 November 2013 - 04:16 AM

We got this Zte Valet, and I can't figure out how to root it or anything else :(

#9 SilverWings

SilverWings

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 05:02 PM

I have some questions as well (I have the same phone):

 

1. If I am on the internet whilst I am connected to WiFi, I do not use minutes, correct?

 

2. If I am still connected to WiFi, do I spend minutes if I call and text?

 

3. Does turning off data keep me from using minutes? Thank you. :D



#10 JohnSmith

JohnSmith

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 July 2014 - 06:56 PM

I need to know if it is possible to reset the data usage on my phone, so it looks like no data has been used, or limited data has been used without doing a full factory reset.  ASAP Answer would be very much appreciated.  Thanks :)